Frequently Asked Questions

Florida Marriage Licenses for Destination Weddings

Why get my Florida Marriage license through the mail?

Our service will save you time and afford you more time to enjoy your vacation in Florida.  It also gives you one less thing to do for your wedding.  If you are coming in on a weekend, then you need to get your license through the mail as the courthouse will be closed.

What are the requirements to get your marriage license through the mail?

  • Both of you must NOT be a Florida Resident
  • You must be 18 years of age or older

Will the license be valid in any city in Florida?

Yes, the license is valid throughout the state of Florida.

We both live in different states/countries, can we still get the marriage license by mail?

Yes, we will send you instructions on how to get this done. Since this will extend the amount of time required for processing, we cannot do this for rush service (less than 30 days).

We are non-US citizens, can we still apply?

Yes. You do not need to be a US citizen to apply for the license. The same ID requirements apply. You will need to get the license notarized in your country, please check your country’s requirements and fees prior to purchasing your marriage license with us.  The license will be issued in English only.

Will the license be valid in our country?

Yes, a wedding in the United States is recognized in many countries. However most foreign countries will require an Apostille for legalization. Please check with your local authorities. You can click on this link for more information on obtaining an Apostille: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/planning_eval/vital_statistics/apostille.htm

We are now offering Florida Apostille service.  Please go here for more information:  http://www.licensetowed.net/apostille/

How long is the valid?

The license is valid for 60 days.

How far in advance can we apply?

You can apply up to one year prior to the date, we will get the process started and make sure it is not issued until 50 days prior to your wedding.

Do you need to see a copy of the divorce decree(s) if either one of us has been married before?

No. The only information we need is the date your last marriage ended and how.

Is there a blood test required?

No. The state of Florida does not require a blood test.

Who can perform the wedding ceremony?

According to the state of Florida Marriage statutes:

741.07 Persons authorized to solemnize matrimony.

(1) All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law. Nothing in this section shall make invalid a marriage which was solemnized by any member of the clergy, or as otherwise provided by law prior to July 1, 1978.

(2) Any marriage which may be had and solemnized among the people called “Quakers,” or “Friends,” in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies, according to their rites and ceremonies, shall be good and valid in law; and wherever the words “minister” and “elder” are used in this chapter, they shall be held to include all of the persons connected with the Society of Friends, or Quakers, who perform or have charge of the marriage ceremony according to their rites and ceremonies.

Do you handle last minute requests?

Yes. We do offer rush service, please refer to the pricing page for the fee.

Can I get a refund?

All fees are non-refundable.